PERMANENT STANDING COMMITTEES OF ACES INC.

COMMITTEE	CHAIRMAN	ADDRESS
NOMINATIONS	Rene Allard	Penn State University PO Box 30 State College, PA 16804-0030
ELECTIONS	Rene Allard	Penn State University PO Box 30 State College, PA 16804-0030
FINANCE	Allen Glisson	EE Department, Anderson Hall University of Mississippi University, MS 38677
PUBLICATIONS	Andrew Peterson	Georgia Institute of Technology School of ECE Atlanta, GA 30332-0250
CONFERENCE	Osama Mohammed	Florida International University ECE Department Miami, FL 33174
AWARDS	Pat Foster	MAAS 16 Peachfield Road Great Malvern, UK WR14 4AP

MEMBERSHIP ACTIVITY COMMITTEES OF ACES INC.

COMMITTEE	CHAIRMAN	ADDRESS
SOFTWARE VALIDATION	Bruce Archambeault	IBM 158 Lin Tilley Road Durham, NC 27712
HISTORICAL	Robert Bevensee	BOMA Enterprises PO Box 812 Alamo, CA 94507-0812

PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE REPORT

I am pleased to report that in July 2002, ACES made a formal request to the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI) asking that the ACS Journal be included in the ISI database. The ISI database provides an index to about 8600 international journals, including bibliographic data and reference citations. This request was made in part because of a number of member requests that we do so. Inclusion in the ISI database should help the outside world locate relevant articles in the Journal and raise the visibility of the Journal.

The evaluation process may take some time, since the ISI editors require that several issues be sent to them as they appear (in order to judge the frequency of publication and the adherence to the indicated schedule). We are optimistic that we will receive a positive response from them sometime next year!

Professor Andrew F. Peterson School of Electrical & Computer Engineering Georgia Institute of Technology Atlanta, GA 30332-0250 USA

(404)-894-4697 (office) (770)-454-9557 (home) (404)-894-4641 (shared department FAX) peterson@ee.gatech.edu

ELECTION REPORT

Candidate statements appeared in the July ACES Newsletter.

Congratulations go to Leo Kemple, Tapan Sarkar and Osama Mohammed.

These three newly elected Directors will be installed in office at the next Annual Meeting of Members which occurs at the annual conference.

Rene Allard, Elections Committee Chairman